Bruce Gillespie

A blog by freelance writer and editor Bruce Gillespie.

Second anthology follows up childless women with the men’s side

Here’s a link to another preview story for Nobody’s Father, this time in the Victoria News. It features a great photo of my co-editor, Lynne Van Luven, and one of our Victoria-based contributors, Aaron Shepard.

In the story, Lynne gives some insight into how the collection came together and who we ended up receiving submissions from.

We didn’t just want it to all be ‘I couldn’t’ or ‘I wouldn’t.’ And I mean really there isn’t a story in here by a man who physically could not have children. I suspect men who actually can’t, aren’t able to talk about it, I think it’s different for women. I think it’s one thing to choose that as a path it’s another to actually be impotent. To not be able to conceive a child there’s got to be some strange shame attached to that…

Written by bgillesp

September 26, 2008 at 9:04 am

Posted in Nobody's Father

