Bruce Gillespie

A blog by freelance writer and editor Bruce Gillespie.

Gone fishing

I have a story in the new issue of Canadian Geographic Travel magazine, which hits newsstands across the country this week. It is my account of the three days and two nights my partner and I spent camped out in an ice hut near North Bay, Ont., this past February.

As I say in the story, we aren’t the sort of guys you’d expect to find ice fishing, but I actually did a lot of it as a kid with my grandfather, so my editor, Patricia D’Souza, thought it would be fun for me (and readers!) to have another go at it.

Against almost all of my friends’ and family’s expectations, we had a really good time, which I chalk up to the hospitality of Scott Nelson, who owns Glen Echo Cottages, and our fantastic photographer, Harry Nowell.

You can check out a preview of the story here, but if you want to read the whole thing, and find out if we caught any fish, you’ll have to track down a copy of Canadian Geographic Travel.

Written by bgillesp

October 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Posted in Journalism, Writing

